Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

Highlights from my trip to the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting featuring an inspiring keynote speech from 2011 Physics Nobel Brian P. Schmidt (transcript below).

Nobel Prize winners featured in the video:

2011 Physics – Brian P. Schmidt

2014 Chemistry – William E. Moerner

2017 Chemistry – Joachim Frank

2001 Physics – Carl E. Weiman

2010 Physics – Sir Konstantin Novoselov

2018 Physics – Gerard Mourou

2009 Chemistry – Ada E. Yomath

“As I finish my talk, I ask each of you to embrace your privileged role as one of the world’s most educated citizens. Make sure your work, as much as it is possible, is available for fellow scientists to amplify. Always make sure you are working to push the boundaries of knowledge, rather than defending your view of the world. Bring the world with you, know your own biases, be inclusive, show patience and show respect to everyone around you. From young children you might meet whilst visiting a kindergarten, to potentially meeting the leader of your country. If we all do this, we can make a difference. And in 2019, I’m sorry to say we must make a difference, the world is waiting for us. Thank you very much.”

With thanks to the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting for their support. Produced by Dr Tom Crawford, University of Oxford.

Picture/Credit: Julia Nimke/Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s